An Ongoing Commitment

G. M. L. Gladwell served as chair of SMD from 1979 to 1992. A thirteen year period over which, despite the noted difficulties, the membership continued to act as a loosely-knit research group; collaborating on research projects, coordinating seminars, pooling resources to support visitors, and participating in the hiring of new faculty. The group has maintained an ongoing commitment to research and its related activities through to the present day. D. E. Grierson served as chair from 1992 to 2002, while G. W. Brodland continues as chair to 2006 and beyond.

Upon the departure and retirement of nearly all of its initial and early members over almost 30 years since its inception, SMD was renamed in the mid-1990s as the Structures, Mechanics and Construction Division (SMCD) to reflect the changing research interests of its more recent and new members. Professors Brodland, W.-C. Xie and M. A. Polak joined SMD/SMCD during the late 1980s and early 1990’s; M. Pandey, K. Soudki, T. Hegazy and L. Xu joined in the mid-1990s; J. Straube, J. West and S. Potapenko joined in the late 1990s and early 2000s; while S. Narasimhan and S. Walbridge became new members as of May 1, 2006.